HISTORY AND HERITAGE

2000 YEARS OF HISTORY

A CITY OF ROMAN GAULE

The ancient agglomeration named Cassinomagus (current village of Chassenon) was located in the province of Aquitaine and belonged to the city of Lémovices whose chief town was the ancient Limoges: Augustoritum .

Cassinomagus was on the way to Agrippa which crossed Roman Gaul from Saintes to Lyon, from the 1st century AD.


It was in the 1st century BC that Julius Caesar transformed Gaul into Roman provinces. Buildings emblematic of the adoption of a new art of living were then built. Imagine that almost 2000 years ago stood in Chassenon a monumental complex composed of public and religious buildings. Locals and travelers alike could find here a theater (still buried under the vegetation), a temple 30 meters high today destroyed, as well as thermal baths: the best preserved vestiges of France.

PUBLIC THERMAL BATHS OF 10,000 M²

The thermal baths were built at the beginning of the 2nd century AD on a double plan, according to the imperial model prevalent in Rome. Less gigantic and luxurious than the Roman examples, the thermal baths of Cassinomagus still have an area of ​​10,000 m².


The thermal baths are one of the major buildings of the Roman way of life. They are used for hygiene, beauty care and physical exercise. But it is also a place of meeting and exchange. All social classes combined, the population finds itself at the edge of the pools, in treatment rooms, under porticoes, in gardens…. Different times or days are probably offered to men and women accompanied by their children.


The use of thermal baths is based on a principle of progressive heating of the body to end in brutal cooling. Beforehand, the body is coated with oil in order to cause, by perspiration due to the heating of the body, a saponification which cleanses the epidermis; the route therefore begins either with physical exercise in the dedicated rooms (gymnasiums or palestres), or with perspiration and immersion in the hot baths of the hot rooms ( caldarium , hot pools). The user goes through the warm rooms ( tepidarium ), a transitional space to get the body used to temperature variations. The bath ritual ends in cold rooms ( frigidaria ) or in outdoor spaces (palatial natatio ) to restore tone and firm up the skin. The body treatment rooms ( unctoria - destrictaria ) allowed users to thoroughly cleanse their skin using the strigile, or to be massaged, depilated, shaved ...

The water was brought, cold, by an aqueduct which also supplied the temple. Cold water was distributed either in the cold basins and fountains or in boilers allowing it to be heated and then supplied to the hot basins.

Twelve ovens were used to heat the water but also all the hot rooms thanks to the ingenious hypocaust heating.

We now know that the building functioned for more than 150 years, before being partially destroyed by a fire at the end of the third century AD.


With the progressive abandonment of the thermal baths, nature resumed its rights. And the burial of the remains favored the exceptional conservation of the building, allowing us today to better understand its construction and use of the time.

A PLACE OF WORSHIP AMONG THE MOST VAST IN ROMAN GAULE

The sanctuary would have been built at the end of the 1st century - beginning of the 2nd century AD. AD and is today estimated at 7 hectares including a temple 30 meters high and a sacred wood, one of the largest places of worship in Roman Gaul.

The temple called "de Montélu" would have been built at the end of the 1st century - beginning of the 2nd century AD. AD
Constituted by a podium three meters high, it has a width of forty-seven meters and had an estimated height of thirty meters. It overlooks the thermal baths, the aqueduct and the spectacle building of the monumental complex. Its plan is characteristic of religious architecture in Roman Gaul: a central room, the cella, surrounded by a colonnaded gallery. Here, the cella took the form of a tower of eighteen meters in diameter, octagonal on the outside and circular on the inside.

No deity could be associated with the temple, but archaeological excavations have brought to light arrangements around a recurring theme: water.

The temple is part of a dedicated space made up of two vast esplanades, to the west and to the east. These cultural areas are delimited by a surrounding wall lined by a colonnade gallery, inside (allowing the movement of people).

Near the temple, circles three meters in diameter draw a checkerboard of fifty meters on the side in the natural meadow: they are the imprints of forty-nine pits dug out of the natural rock.

Thanks to archeology and specialized earth sciences, it is now known that these pits were used to accommodate trees or shrubs, thus forming an orderly wood entirely created by human hands. Present within the place of worship, archaeologists identify it with a sacred wood in connection with the divinity.

Unfortunately, analyzes of the pits did not identify the type of trees planted in the sacred wood of the place of worship of Cassinomagus .

REDISCOVERY AND ARCHEOLOGY

It was in the 16th century that Cassinomagus was identified for the first time as an ancient agglomeration. It was then necessary to wait until the 18th century for the first investigations to be carried out there. The research then concentrated on the great temple.

It was finally in the 20th century, in 1958, that the excavations of Jean-Henri Moreau, founder of the Société des Amis de Chassenon, made it possible to identify the remains as thermal baths. He will also search the temple.

Since 1995, professional excavations have made it possible to better understand the architecture and the functioning of this monumental space as well as the thermal baths, the place of worship or even the aqueduct.

Longeas 16150 CHASSENON, France

05 45 89 32 21

HISTOIRE ET HÉRITAGE

2000 ANS D'HISTOIRE

UNE VILLE DE LA GAULE ROMAINE

L’agglomération antique nommée Cassinomagus (village actuel de Chassenon) se situait dans la province d’Aquitaine et appartenait à la cité des Lémovices dont le chef-lieu était l’antique Limoges : Augustoritum.

Cassinomagus se trouvait sur la voie d’Agrippa qui traversait la Gaule romaine de Saintes à Lyon, dès le Ier siècle de notre ère.


C’est au Ier siècle av J.-C. que Jules César transforma la Gaule en provinces romaines. Des édifices emblématiques de l’adoption d’un nouvel art de vivre ont alors été bâtis. Imaginez qu’il y a maintenant près de 2000 ans s’élevait à Chassenon un ensemble monumental composé d’édifices publics et religieux. Les habitants comme les voyageurs pouvaient trouver ici un théâtre (encore enfoui sous la végétation), un temple de 30 mètres de haut aujourd’hui détruit, ainsi que des thermes : les vestiges les mieux conservés de France.

DES THERMES PUBLICS DE 10 000 M²

Les thermes sont construits au début du IIe siècle de notre ère sur un plan double, selon le modèle impérial répandu à Rome. Moins gigantesques et luxueux que les exemples romains, les thermes de Cassinomagus ont tout de même une surface de 10 000 m².


Les thermes sont un des édifices majeurs du mode de vie à la romaine. Ils sont fréquentés pour l’hygiène, les soins esthétiques et les exercices physiques. Mais c’est également un lieu de rencontre et d’échange. Toutes classes sociales confondues, la population se retrouve aux bords des bassins, dans les salles de soins, sous les portiques, dans les jardins…. Des horaires ou des jours différents sont probablement proposés aux hommes et aux femmes accompagnées de leurs enfants.


L’usage des thermes repose sur un principe d’échauffement progressif du corps pour finir par un brutal refroidissement. En préalable, le corps est enduit d'huile afin de provoquer, par la transpiration due à l’échauffement du corps, une saponification qui nettoie l'épiderme ; le parcours débute donc soit par l’exercice physique dans les salles dédiées (gymnases ou palestres), soit par la transpiration et l’immersion dans les bains chauds des salles chaudes (caldarium, piscines chaudes). L’usager passe par les salles tièdes (tepidarium), espace de transition pour habituer le corps aux variations de température. Le rituel du bain finit dans les salles froides (frigidaria) ou dans les espaces extérieurs (palestres à natatio) pour redonner du tonus à sa peau et la raffermir. Les salles de soins du corps (unctoria - destrictaria) permettaient aux usagers de nettoyer leur peau en profondeur à l'aide du strigile, ou de se faire masser, épiler, raser...

L'eau était apportée, froide, par un aqueduc qui alimentait également le temple. L'eau froide était distribuée soit dans les bassins et fontaines froids soit dans des chaudières permettant de la chauffer pour ensuite alimenter les bassins chauds.

Douze fours permettaient de chauffer l'eau mais également l'ensemble des salles chaudes grâce à l'ingénieux chauffage par hypocauste.

On sait aujourd’hui que l’édifice a fonctionné pendant plus de 150 ans, avant d’être partiellement détruit par un incendie à la fin du IIIe siècle de notre ère.


Avec l’abandon progressif des thermes, la nature reprit ses droits. Et l’ensevelissement des vestiges a favorisé l’exceptionnelle conservation de l’édifice, nous permettant aujourd’hui de mieux en comprendre la construction et l’usage de l’époque.

UN LIEU DE CULTE PARMI LES PLUS VASTES DE LA GAULE ROMAINE

Le sanctuaire aurait été construit à la fin du Ier siècle – début du IIe siècle apr. J.-C et est aujourd’hui estimé à 7 hectares incluant un temple de 30 mètres de haut et un bois sacré, l’un des plus vastes lieux de culte de la Gaule romaine.

Le temple dit "de Montélu" aurait été construit à la fin du Ier siècle – début du IIe siècle ap. J.-C.
Constitué par un podium haut de trois mètres, il possède une largeur de quarante-sept mètres et présentait une hauteur estimée à trente mètres. Il surplombe les thermes, l’aqueduc et l’édifice de spectacles de l’ensemble monumental. Son plan est caractéristique de l’architecture religieuse en Gaule romaine : une pièce centrale, la cella, entourée d’une galerie à colonnade. Ici, la cella prenait la forme d’une tour de dix-huit mètres de diamètre, octogonale à l’extérieur et circulaire à l’intérieur.

Aucune divinité n’a pu être associée au temple, mais les fouilles archéologiques ont mis en évidence des aménagements autour d’un thème récurrent : l’eau.

Le temple s’inscrit dans un espace consacré composé de deux vastes esplanades, à l’ouest et à l’est. Ces aires cultuelles sont délimitées par un mur d’enceinte doublé par une galerie à colonnade, à l’intérieur (permettant la circulation des personnes).

Près du temple, des cercles de trois mètres de diamètre dessinent un damier d’une cinquantaine de mètres de côté dans la prairie naturelle : ce sont les empreintes de quarante-neuf fosses creusées à même la roche naturelle.

Grâce à l’archéologie et aux sciences spécialisées de la terre, il est aujourd’hui avéré que ces fosses servaient à accueillir des arbres ou arbustes, formant ainsi un bois ordonné et entièrement créé de la main de l’homme. Présent au sein du lieu de culte, les archéologues l’identifient à un bois sacré en lien avec la divinité.

Malheureusement, les analyses des fosses n’ont pas permis d’identifier le type d’arbres plantés dans le bois sacré du lieu de culte de Cassinomagus.

REDÉCOUVERTE ET ARCHÉOLOGIE

C’est au XVIe siècle que Cassinomagus est identifiée pour la première fois comme une agglomération antique. Il faut ensuite attendre le XVIIIe siècle pour que les premières investigations y soient menées. Les recherches se concentrent alors sur le grand temple.

C’est finalement au XXe siècle, en 1958, que les fouilles de Jean-Henri Moreau, fondateur de la Société des Amis de Chassenon, permettent d’identifier les vestiges comme des thermes. Il fouillera également le temple.

Depuis 1995, des fouilles professionnelles permettent de mieux comprendre l’architecture et le fonctionnement de cet espace monumental aussi bien des thermes,  du lieu de culte ou encore de l'aqueduc.

Longeas 16150 CHASSENON, France

05 45 89 32 21