THE GARDEN OF PLINY

The garden of Pliny the Elder and the Small Vegetable Garden of Cassinomagus present a selection of plants that the Romans used in their daily life. Each crop square brings together plants according to their uses: vegetable, medicinal, aromatic, decorative and utility plants.

The plants that we observe there today are only a part of Pliny the Elder's knowledge in the 1st century, which lists in its encyclopedia Natural History, more than 900 plants. The plants presented in the gardens are therefore not an exhaustive list, and the collection has grown over the years.

Sauge - petite taille.JPG

A MEDICAL PLANT

SAGE, from the Latin " salvare " which means "to save", "to heal", is without question the queen of medicinal plants. For the Romans, "sacred grass", it is harvested as part of a special ceremony, without iron tools. According to legend, it would have made Jupiter immortal!

Fenouil - petite taille.jpg

AN AROMATIC PLANT

FENNEL was already incorporated into Egyptian, Greek and Roman dishes. It was also used to increase or improve eyesight. According to Pliny, its seeds are in almost all seasonings and especially vinegar sauces. You could also garnish the bread crust for more flavor.

Lavande web.jpg

A PERFUME PLANT

LAVENDER, long before anyone thought of creating bath salts and deodorants, was used by the Romans to prepare (purify) their baths. Its name comes from the Latin lavare which means to wash.

... and many other varieties of plants await you in Pliny's garden!
You will be able to meet more than 100 plants typical of the Gallo-Roman era and thus offer you a plant and historical walk in the heart of the Cassinomagus archaeological park.
In summer, a misty cool space is available in the Pliny garden.

Longeas 16150 CHASSENON, France

05 45 89 32 21

Le jardin de Pline l'Ancien

et le petit potager de Cassinomagus

Les végétaux qu'on y observe aujourd'hui ne sont qu'une partie des connaissances de Pline l'Ancien au Ier siècle, qui recense dans son encyclopédie l'Histoire Naturelle, plus de 900 végétaux. Les plantes présentées aux jardins ne constituent donc pas une liste exhaustive, et la collection s'enrichit au fil des ans. 

Le jardin de Pline l'Ancien et le Petit Potager de Cassinomagus vous présentent une sélection de végétaux que les Romains utilisaient dans leur vie quotidienne. Chaque carré de culture rassemble des végétaux en fonction de leurs usages : plantes potagères, médicinales, aromatiques, décoratives et utilitaires. 

Une plante médicinale :

LA SAUGE, du latin "salvare" qui signifie "sauver", "guérir", est sans conteste la reine des plantes médicinales.  Pour les Romains, « herbe sacrée », elle se récolte dans le cadre d’un cérémonial spécial, sans outils de fer. Selon la légende elle aurait rendue Jupiter immortel !

Une plante aromatique

LE FENOUIL était déjà incorporé dans les mets Égyptiens, Grecs et Romains. Il était aussi utilisé pour augmenter ou améliorer la vue. Selon Pline, ses graines sont dans presque tous les assaisonnements et surtout les sauces au vinaigre. On pouvait aussi en garnir la croûte du pain pour plus de goût.

Une plante décorative

L'ACANTHE est d'un usage classique dans les jardins romains.En architecture, sa représentation stylisée est aussi très caractéristique de l'ornement des chapiteaux de type corinthien.

... et encore d'autres variétés de plantes vous attendent au jardin de Pline!

Vous pourrez partir à la rencontre de plus de 100 plantes typiques de l'époque gallo-romaine et ainsi vous offrir une balade végétale et historique au cœur du parc archéologique Cassinomagus.

En été, un espace fraîcheur brumisé est disponible dans le jardin de Pline.

Suivez-nous sur :

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

Parc archéologique

Longeas

16150 Chassenon